The Album Drop

MUSIC NEWS | REVIEWS | INTERVIEWS

Song Of The Day #17

Thursday is a 6 piece group from New Brunswick, New Jersey. Since the late 90’s this six piece has been putting out a solid mix of hardcore punk and alternative rock. Singer Geoff Rickly has a great balance of screaming and singing that makes their music just awesome. Their new record is out, it’s called No Devolución, and this one is on it. Dig it…

One comment on “Song Of The Day #17

  1. Ashley
    June 20, 2011

    I hated Common Existence because the heavy-sounding guitars made it so cheesy and “big” (haha, I am not a musician and wish I could articulate that better) but this song is an improvement to me. I’ll buy this album even if it sucks because I’m loyal/nostalgic like that but whatever… I still prefer the raw (dare I say “poor”) vocals found prior to City By the Light. They’re just a different band now. I’m getting used to Geoff’s new overproduced voice and simpler lyrics, but sometimes I feel like I have to force myself to suspend my disgust when I put on a newer Thursday record because I don’t want to let go of something I once loved, and that’s an uncomfortable feeling. I can’t believe I’m saying this but it would almost be better if they broke up and formed a new band rather than continue on this way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 19, 2011 by in Reviews, Song Of The Day and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,514 other followers

Email

Phil [at] TheAlbumDrop [dot] ca
