The Album Drop

MUSIC NEWS | REVIEWS | INTERVIEWS

Kurt Cobain’s Cookie Recipe

..and the feelings that come with it.

The finished product

The finished product

I remember hearing that a collection of Kurt Cobain’s journals were collected, and being published.

I’l never forget the excitement that I felt. Kurt was an artist that I admired immensely, and at the time I couldn’t have fathomed that there would be a movie about his final, unpublished works, or an accompanying record that went with it. Hell, ‘With The Lights Out’ (The Box Set) wasn’t even a thing yet. I had just assumed that we (as an adoring fan base) had been given all that there was, and was accepting of that. Needless to say, the idea of this book blew my mind.

I bought “Journals” the day it came out. It was heavy, and I waited for what seemed like an eternity in line. As I drove home, I began to think about how invasive it was for this collection to be culled through by someone else, and then presented out of context with the author’s named slapped on it.

In a years that have passed, we’ve come to know that Kurt was an immensely private person. This document shows that he certainly cared for how his image would be perceived. This is also a man who fought to call his first record after becoming a household name “I Hate Myself And I Want To Die”, lost and was dead less than a year later. He had some issues, and we’ll leave that at that.

I also had somewhat of a moral issue with what I deemed a blatant excuse to cash in on Kurt’s fame. I now realize that Courtney probably didn’t need the money, but if you had a family to support, and no real prospects for the future (because, let’s be real here), wouldn’t you do everything you can to ensure your kid doesn’t have to face the struggle of money? Frances is completely deserved of the lifestyle that should come with the kind of success her dad had. Thanks to having sound financial people in place, Courtney ensured that child would never want for anything that cost money, and she never gets enough praise for that. Anyways, these feelings led me to a place mentally, where I determined that I should not go through this book, in spite of just buying it. So, I didn’t.

Just over a year later, I was given another copy of “Journals” for Christmas. It was the paperback, and I am such a hardcore collector that I was stoked to receive it. I left it on my bookshelf, on top of the hardcover edition for about 30 seconds. I decided that it was finally time to read it.

It’s a difficult read. 200 pages of photographs. Rants, lyrics, guitar tabs, satirical magazine articles, tongue-in-cheek band biographies, crude ballpoint pen drawings and (surprisingly) a recipe for no-bake, gluten free chocolate-oatmeal cookies? That one never left me. Scrawled in what appears to be red magic marker, this collection of “bare bones” instructions looked completely plausible, and sounded delicious.

Yields about 36 cookies 4cm in diameter. (Mine were a bit bigger)

Yields about 36 cookies 4cm in diameter. (Mine were a bit bigger)

We’ll never know if this is a recipe copied out of a book, if it was dictated to him, or the results of his own trial and error. What I can tell you is that they’re awesome. I made these yesterday, and it took about 15 minutes from fridge/pantry to be done. They took a long time to set (including a trip to the garage). I would mention the “batter” needs to be really kneaded together, and I suggest warming the mixture at a low heat, as that’s a lot of sugar to breakdown. I also think that I will use more oats next time, because that’s a lot easier than trying to cut down the other ingredients equally. I promise this isn’t going to become a cooking blog.

wp-1456687996146.jpg

One comment on “Kurt Cobain’s Cookie Recipe

  1. Pam
    March 4, 2016

    Add a cup of coconut. Called bear droppings! Yum!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 28, 2016 by in Thoughts and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,532 other followers

Email

Phil [at] TheAlbumDrop [dot] ca
