The Album Drop – September 29, 2015

Today marks the return of The Music Meltdown, plus we’ve got new tunes from Destroyer, Silversun Pickups, Millencolin and more!

Stream/Download Past Episodes

Continue reading

The Album Drop – September 22, 2015

Today on the show, I eat my words about the Polaris Music Prize jury, and we get to new tunes from Refused, Greg Graffin from Bad Religion, Dead Tired and Mercury Girls.

Stream/Download Past Episodes

Continue reading

The Album Drop – September 15, 2015

This week we introduce a new co-host, preview the upcoming awarding of The Polaris Music Prize, play some awesome tunes from The Arcs, Tokyo Police Club’s Dave Monks, Stars and more.


Stream/Download Episodes Here

Continue reading

On where we’ve been

I write this, just in case you had been wondering why there hasn’t been a new episode of the show, or anything else posted since the beginning of May. To say it has been a crazy few months over here at Album Drop HQ would understate the severity of the changes in my life.

On May 11th, I awoke to find my wife Lauren (The Voice of The Album Drop) had passed away. As you can imagine, I haven’t been able to do much else. As if that wasn’t enough, a few weeks later there was a flood in my condo, and it will still be some time until my son and I can move back in.

So, my priorities in life got juggled around a bit, but I’m okay.

Phil Shirakawa

The Album Drop – May 5, 2015

Today we’ve got new tunes from The Alabama Shakes, Metz, Violent Femmes, Aqua Alta, a killer tune for Cover Song of the Week, Music News in The Music Meltdown and more! Tune to CHUO 89.1FM now or stream it here!


  1. Alabama Shakes – Sound & Color
    Continue reading